On writing a book

Ugh. Quite simply, ugh. Now I’m not having the Niven law (yet), but it’s still a pain.

[Niven law. Writing is easy. Just stare at a piece of paper till you sweat blood from your forehead. Yes, that’s a paraphrase.]

The problem is that I’m used to emails and blogs and, at worst, short (up to ten page) formal reports. A book isn’t formal, is a heck of a lot longer, but CANNOT use my normal habit of digression. Most of the time the digressions are something to plug into another chapter in which they actually belong.

I admire authors – nonfiction and fiction – even more than I did. I knew storytelling was hard. Writing – coherently and usefully – is harder.

Leave a Reply

