Potato Pancakes

Another simple recipe, but this time… PICTURE!!! (I’m going to try to start including these. If I remember, yada yada.)

This was breakfast today. The basic recipe is easy. One medium potato, grated. A tablespoon of flour and a half-teaspoon of salt, stirred in. Add a lightly beaten egg and mix thoroughly. Dish to make 3-inch or so cakes and cook on a hot griddle for about 4-5 minutes on each side till both a pretty brown color AND the potatoes are done. Makes 3-5 cakes. Serves 1 or 2 depending on appetite.

Now in the picture I’ve made a trio of quennelles for pretty using two of my preferred toppings. They’re sour cream and strawberry preserves, lightly mixed (instead of being pink). When I’m serving just for me it’s a spoon of sour cream and a spoon of preserves. I’m also fond of applesauce as an option.

The pancakes also work as a savory side. In that case I’ll add some green onion (one, chopped fine, per potato), and depending on what main dish it’s accompanying I’ll add other herbs.

One thought on “Potato Pancakes

Leave a Reply

