Pizza Pizza

I simultaneously love and hate making pizza here. Love eating it, but … well, follow along.

First, this is the pan I use to make pizza for me. 6 inch cast iron. The oranges have nothing to do with pizza, but are used to give you a sense of scale.

6 inch cast iron, with three oranges for scale.

6 inch cast iron, with three oranges for scale.

Why a 6 inch skillet? Because I like Deep Dish. No skimpy layer of cheese over a crispy almost-tortilla for me, boy howdy. Two shots: just out of the oven, and on the plate with first slice. (I am a hog. Actually, I save half and reheat for the next day’s meal.)

Deep Dish in the pan

Deep dish in the pan


and
Deep Dish on the plate

Deep Dish on the plate

Now here’s why making pizza is such a joy, here. The wife likes flat (with lots of cheese). The kid likes Calzones. The pan is still there for reference.

Calzones and pizza

Calzones and pizza

Yep, just like me they’ve eaten half and the rest will be for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

