Proud of her

My daughter will graduate from high school this year. She’s the salutatorian, with a 4.0 GPA. She’s been accepted to Georgia Tech.

I am going to take a few minutes here to list some of the things that she has had to overcome to get where she is — reasons for which her accomplishment is even greater. They may not be unique to her, but they apply to her nonetheless.

She suffers from a central nervous system disorder — Idiopathic CNS Hypersomnia.

She suffered for a couple of years from bullies — school backed bullies. Let me give two examples. late elementary school, some of the “popular” girls started the game of telling other girls if they wanted to be in the ‘clique’ they had to shun my daughter. They also did some other things… we went to the school administration, who had her go to the counselor. The counselor said my daughter needed to see a medical counselor to develop social skills — learn how to deal with ‘normal girl behavior’. We actually did this, the medical counselor did a number of evaluations, and said (in writing) that my daughter had no such problems. We took this to the school counselor and… “well, you obviously need to get another psychologist.”

My daughter was having homework disappear, was coming home with (pinch) bruises, was literally having girls grabbed and pulled away if they started to talk to her… but it was her fault. Yeah. We changed school, paying out-of-district, for a year, then (because the district was full) had to do a year of home-school.

Yet she prevailed.

In this high school… she tends to hang with goths (not ’emos’), is a liberal, and is not a baptist. The problem is that this is Lakeview Fort Oglethorpe High School. (link goes to google and the thousands of articles on it.) Click the link and you’ll get some idea.

Supplement this with a particular staff member with authority. He didn’t like her. Quite literally, he… overstated events in his request for disciplinary action against her more than once. (I’m not allowed to say he falsified it, but the record was expunged on review). He gave her very low scores for class participation which gave her in turn VERY low A’s. (Max scores on homework and tests makes up for a lot). If those participation scores had been higher my daughter would have been Valedictorian instead. Ah well.

Oh, He also sits on the selection committee for National Honor society at the school, and has… some authority. Despite being a tutor for fellow students, volunteering at various places, joining school extracurricular activities, taking personal time to earn a black belt, and getting high enough grades to be salutatorian, she is not an NHS member. It hurt her, a lot, to see people she tutored and who’d done less getting ‘tapped’.

In the long run, of course, it won’t matter. Despite these and other issues, she has not only succeeded but exceeded. In another few months she’ll be in college, and high school Will Not Matter. Further, she’ll have many opportunities for revenge — the school is always asking for money for one thing or another, and she can always say things like, “As long as xxx is part of your system, no.”

I am proud of my daughter. She has done well despite the obstacles life has thrown her, and I can’t wait to see what she does when most of them go away.

One thought on “Proud of her

  1. I enjoyed going back to the high school I graduated from after my first semester in college – and giving a presentation to the students about the opportunities that an engineering degree affords you.

    I made a special note to a) thank my science teacher, who allowed me into Physics class as a junior, when the administration told me only seniors could be in the class b) to show my math teacher who said I didn’t have what it took that I had gotten a 4.0 in my Calculus class in college and c) to go visit my counselor who didn’t help send in my transcripts because “good girls stay at home with their parents until they are married, and become teachers and nurses until they become good mothers”

    It’s amazing – AMAZING that school systems still allow the systemic crushing of children’s dreams. Thankfully, some of us can endure, rise above and get out of those systems. I fear for the ones who don’t, and what their life becomes. I hope I never meet the person with authority – he sounds like a very very bad man. Very bad. And the counselor that said you needed to see another doctor. I’d like to show that person what the bottom of my shoe looks like. Disgusting.

    I am VERY proud of your daughter. I hope I can meet her someday.

Leave a Reply

