Making Popcorn

No pictures, sorry.

I don’t like most bagged popcorn. You know the deal — slip the bag of popcorn into the microwave, let it pop, and the steam and bit of fat make the powdered butter substitute and butter solids taste… yeah.

On the other hand, popping the corn on top of the stove is tedious.

I have a compromise and thought I’d share. One large glass mixing bowl — mine’s a 2.5 liter capacity. One dinner plate — it needs to completely cover the bowl (bottom down, trust me on this). And a microwave.

Basic popcorn is a quarter cup of kernels and a tablespoon of oil into the bowl. Give it a stir so all the kernels have some oil, put the plate on the bowl and microwave it for… about six minutes in my machine.

I said basic. That’s because I figured out how to get buttered popcorn without having to drizzle melted butter over the top. That option inevitably shrivels (and toughens) many of the popped kernels. Great taste, tough on the teeth.

No, instead I put about four tablespoons of softened butter in the bowl instead of the oil. It’s the first thing to melt and then boil and then steam, and the steamy oil covers all the kernels.

If I’m wanting a bit more, I can add some spices to the bottom as well. For example I put a quarter teaspoon each of cayenne and garlic powder in with the butter just now. When it was done I sprinkled on just a little parmesan. I’ve also just sprinkled cinnamon sugar – you know, like you put on toast – over the fresh-popped kernels.

WARNING – when the bowl comes out it’s going to be HOT. Use a hotpad, and pour the popped kernels into another bowl for serving/eating.

4 thoughts on “Making Popcorn

  1. There is another benefit to NOT eating bagged microwave popcorn. Studies have shown that the plastics lining the inside of the bag are very bad for you.

    PH makes his on the stove. Your way sounds like fun!

  2. One additional note I should have made. I have fewer old maids with this than any other technique I try. Basically, I wait till it quits popping – or rather, when the rate declines to less than 1 pop per 3 or 4 seconds. I’ve gone to 1 per five, but then some of the early kernels get a touch overcooked.

  3. Great idea! Any idea of how much power your nuker has? 600W? 800W? 1000W? trying to gauge it against the one in the kitchen.

    • 1.5 KW.

      Go by the sound for the first half dozen or so batches, timing each one. Recognize that 4 tablespoons of butter will take longer than one tablespoon of oil, and melted butter is faster than softened butter which is faster than butter straight from the refrigerator.

      Oh – I suppose I should mention one peculiar point. Before any kernels pop, I have this period when it sounds like things are going to vibrate to pieces. I’ve figured out it’s the plate being lifted, barely, then dropping back down. It lasts for about 15 seconds, then the wee bit of steam escaping is steady enough not to matter. It is disturbing the first time you hear it, however.

Leave a Reply

