Potstickers

I couldn’t take another lunch of soup with egg noodles. And yet, I wanted something that used the chicken breast… aha. Potstickers, and it even lets me talk about something on my blog! Win-win.

This is one of those dishes that I call “fake fancy”. That is, so many people think they’re fancy and difficult giving SO many ego-boosts, yet in reality they’re dirt simple. How simple? Well, let’s start with the cooking instead of ingredients first.

You need a heavy skillet with a decent fitting lid. Get it medium hot and add a tablespoon or so of oil. Add the dumplings and let them sit – NOT stirring – for a minute. Add a quarter to third of a cup of water, quickly put on the lid, and set the timer for one minute. When the timer goes off, remove the lid (carefully, there may still be steam), take the pan from the heat, and use a spatula to unstick any dumplings that need it before moving them to the plate.

Yeah, re-read that. Heat the pan, add a bit of oil. One minute, add water and lid, one minute, remove and serve. Hard? snicker.

OK, let’s go to the second easiest part, the shell. The batch you see above is one cup of flour, 1/3 cup of water, about a quarter teaspoon of salt. Knead it till it’s firm, wrap in plastic and put in the refrigerator for half an hour to fully hydrate. Use a pasta roller or your rolling pin to get it as thin as possible. (If the dough is sticking to anything other than itself, dust with a bit of flour and continue.)

Now when I work this, I separate the dough into three or four pieces and roll each of them to the final thickness. It keeps them manageable.

Anyway, I’ve got a strip of some length and about 3 to 4 inches wide. I put a half-teaspoon of filling every couple of inches about 1/3 of the width from one side. I then LIGHTLY spray the strip with water and fold it over. I don’t worry about pretty, just a quick fold over and press around to seal.

Confession time – I don’t go for perfect seals here. As a result I don’t have to worry about trapping air and bursting the packages. Since I’m not using a meltable (cheese) filling, I don’t have to worry about it oozing out during the cooking. Lazy == me.

So we’ve done the two easy parts, what’s the filling? Any chopped meat you want — or for that matter any veggie filling you’ve chopped as well. In this case I’m using the chicken breast I’d thawed (yes, I purchase bags of frozen breasts) and coarsely chopped. This batch had a clove of garlic minced, a tablespoon of chopped onion, a teaspoon of ginger, a teaspoon of soy sauce, and a quarter teaspoon of pepper oil added to it. Thing is you can add whatever you want. I once made a batch with a basic taco meat spice set – it worked. (Though not being what people expected it caused some hesitation. Fair warning.) If you’ve got a favorite sausage sitting in your refrigerator there is ZERO reason to chop or spice if that’s what you want.

This made about 16 dumplings by the way. A nice meal for one, a nice appetizer for two to four (depending on appetites, etc.)

Oh – the small dish is a simple dipping sauce. Equal parts soy and honey mixed. Sometimes I’ll add some ginger and/or garlic and/or, well, whatever strikes my fancy. But I like the sweet+salt base. Feel free to go as you prefer.

6 thoughts on “Potstickers

  1. Now those look good, Kirk. May fave dipping sauce for meat dumplings or for the sausage stuffed wontons I made today has a soy sauce base. Usually a bit of the regular soy sauce then a splash of the dark. Maybe a squirt of hoisin or oyster sauce, a wiff of sriracha, and a good amount of minced garlic. If it isn’t quite sweet enough for me I’ll add a sprinkle of splenda. Lke you, I like the salt taste for the meat.

    jeffreyw

  2. Again Kirk, you’ve taught me something I didn’t know today. Thanks. I’d like to share this over on my page later in the week if that’s okay. My favorite dipping sauce is ginger, soy and chopped green onions.

  3. Pingback: Guest Recipe: Potstickers « What's 4 Dinner Solutions

  4. An update: I was at the Asian market today, picked up some really good frozen potstickers and used your cooking method. Thought it would take longer because they were frozen. It did, 2 minutes instead of one. Yum!

    • Cool.

      I’m going to work up the daring to try this with ravioli some time. Those are usually thicker as well as being egg, however, so I’m not sure how it’ll turn out. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

