Stating the obvious

In case you hadn’t noticed, this blog’s been rather inactive.

Mostly, that’s due to depression. About a week ago I ‘celebrated’ having three full years of unemployment. Starting about a year ago job offers were few and far between, even though I’d significantly expanded the bottom of what I’d take. (scut work, no-education jobs, hourly, …) There is a simple reality that right now it’s a buyer’s – sorry, employer’s – market. There are so many people looking for so few jobs that employers have to use large-scale weeding of the applicants. One of the easiest is long-term unemployment, followed closely by ANY unemployment. After all, regardless how good the person is there are obviously better or the person would have gotten a job by now – would not have been the one cut.

sigh.

Anyway, I’m going to start a business of my own. I had planned to make it a retirement business — something I did to keep a few extra dollars coming in after retirement. It’s going to take work and it’s going to be disappointing for a while. Ironically, it’ll clean up my resume — I’ll still have that long gap, but at least I finally broke out and did something.

What this means for this blog is that I don’t expect to post much, if any. An official declaration of what already exists, if you will. I figure one or two more posts in the next couple of months just to point any readers to my business, and after that anything that appears is a bonus.

Thank you all for taking time to read now and then. Be well and have fun.

One thought on “Stating the obvious

  1. I look forward to hearing about your business. I wish you the best! I really am interested in what you have in the works!

Leave a Reply

