Mine (cookies)

The title comes from what various family members say when they eat these. It’s humor. Sorta.

The basic recipe comes from Eagle Brand, makers of Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk. And I’m going to be honest, the recipe I just linked is great. It’s just I can’t leave well enough alone, so mine’s a little different.

I make two changes to the magic cookie bar recipe. The easy one is that I don’t use nuts. They just don’t add enough in my opinion – more or less they’re just gilding the lily.

The second one’s a bit trickier, but adds another layer. I make dulce de leche. Well, one form of it.

Take a can of sweetened condensed milk. Put it in a pan with a lid – or your crockpot for more safety – and add enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to a very low simmer. Cook for one to ten hours – the longer you go the more the sugars will caramelize, and as you near the ten hour point it’s becoming more caramel candy than caramel milk. The one thing you REALLY MUST do in this process is check your pot every fifteen minutes to half hour or so and make sure it’s not dry. If you can see the top of the can add enough water to cover it again. No water and the milk in the can heads for a boil, which gives you an exploding can and sticky hot sugar-syrup everywhere. If you’re in the kitchen when it explodes plan on going to the hospital first and cleaning the mess second. I’m serious – do not let it boil dry.

Me, I go for about 2 hours for this recipe. I want the milk with a bit of caramel.

Anyway, the (now) caramel milk boils through the chocolate and caramel and binds to the graham cracker crumb crust. After it cools it holds together quite nicely, though you’ll still lose a little coconut from the top.

Oh – that dulce de leche? Once it passes four hour point it’s magnificent on ice cream. Or put as a filling between cookie halves. Or used as a spread on fresh apples. Or spooned out and eaten as comfort food.

Excuse me, I have a pan of mine on the counter. I need to make sure it doesn’t walk away. (grin)

Leave a Reply

