A little cooking

So sometimes my brain catches up and kicks me in the butt while I’m floundering for a subject. In this case… it dawns on me my daughter reads my blog once in a while. And I keep meaning to share recipes for the single person for her. Add that I keep floundering for something to write that doesn’t devolve into a morass and, well, my brain just caught up.

So the big deal about cooking single is that most recipes wind up serving four or six or, well, more. Even those that ‘only’ serve two wind up leaving leftovers. And the thing is pretty much NOBODY wants leftovers every single day – and certainly not the same meal four or six times in a row.

So the goal will be cooking for one. Sometimes I’ll have no choice but to go to two as certain ingredients cannot be reduced.

The other bit of fun for the single cook is cooking pans. Put 6-8 ounces of meatloaf in a loaf pan and it’s worth pictures and giggles but not cooking. And some of the posts will just be tips – not just alternatives to large pans but tricks for division and only buying enough (but buying enough) ingredients and all of that.

I has a subject. Expect posts.

Oh, and if you’ve got a question or request feel free to add it as a comment. I may not know the answer, but I’ve got one or two experts I’m willing to ask in that case.

Leave a Reply

