Oat cakes

For the last several weeks, I’ve been making a simple oat cake (in various forms) for breakfast. I like oatmeal, but I find it messy. This has been a great alternative that gives me a meal that’ll keep me going till lunch. I thought I’d share.

Let’s start with the recipe.

Start a skillet (I use my cast iron) warming over medium high heat.
3/4 cups of rolled oats.
Approximately half that of water.
1 tablespoon honey or molasses (I prefer the latter in this, but your mileage may vary).
[optional] 2-3 tablespoons dried fruit (I tend to use dried cranberries, but everything I’ve tried works).

Mix and let stand for about a minute. Spoon or pour it into the skillet and lightly flatten (so one or four rounds as you prefer). Let cook for 2-3 minutes till browned, then flip and cook another 2-3 minutes.

Remove and serve.

I got the inspiration from a commentary on soldiers cooking during the civil war, where it was supposedly common for a quick breakfast to be some water and oats, cooked on a hot shovel. I can see it, though it’s hard on the shovel – but as normal I digress.

It’s fairly heavy. As a result it’s quite filling, and smaller appetites would be fine sharing this between two (or more).

I’ve used the smaller ones as a base for an eggs benedict type dish – a little ham, a poached egg, and some hollandaise sauce – but when I do I don’t have the fruit and reduce the molasses/honey by about half.

I’ve also used them to make “biscuit” sandwiches – put some sausage, or a scrambled egg and some cheese, or something like that between a split cake.

Both those add more flavors, but they also add more time and more calories. And, well, I’ve come to like my little oat cake.

Just a simple little ten minute breakfast bread. I’ll be interested to see if any of you run with this, and what you develop when you do.

Leave a Reply

